5099205893e4e_k2Strasbourg – During its session today the Intergroup elected Janusz Wojciechowski MEP as its new President and he takes over the role with immediate effect. “It is a great privilege to follow in the footsteps of Pavel Poc and carry on the work he has so confidently promoted.I am extremely pleased to be able to take the leadership of one of the most active groups within the Parliament and look forward to working with my fellow MEPs to develop the Intergroup further,” said Mr Wojciechowski following his election.

During the session the Intergroup also appointed four new vice-presidents: Anja Hazekamp, Marlene Mizzi, Stefan Eck and Keith Taylor. “I am honoured to have been elected Vice-President of the Intergroup on the Welfare and Conservation of Animals. I look forward to discussing a wide variety of animal protection issues in this unique cross-party forum and through the Intergroup I will strive to improve the welfare of all animals and ensure that animal welfare is placed high on the political agenda,” commented Ms Hazekamp.

“Animals cannot talk, cannot defend themselves and speak up for their rights. But they do hurt and do suffer. So, it is up to us to be their voices and defenders,” added Ms Mizzi. “As a new MEP for the Animal Party I am committed to the work of the Intergroup and will make it my mission to improve the knowledge of all MEPs and work to minimise animal suffering across the EU” stated Mr Eck“.

Animals are sentient beings with the ability to experience pleasure and pain and I am fiercely committed to the protection of their health and habitats. I have been pushing for stronger regulations for animals since first becoming an MEP and I look forward to playing an even more active role as a Vice-Chair of the Animal Welfare Intergroup and helping to create change that will improve the lives for millions of animals,” concluded Mr Taylor.


Comments are closed.