Please support new written declaration 3/2016 on trophy hunting

On 19/01/2016, in All posts, by Animal Welfare Intergroup


This week, the Animal Welfare Intergroup Members Neena Gill (S&D, UK), Catherine Bearder (ALDE, UK), Sirpa Pietikäinen (EPP, FI), Kathleen Van Brempt (S&D, BE), Stefan Eck (GUE/NGL, DE), Miriam Dalli (S&D, MT), Seb Dance (S&D, UK), Bart Staes (Greens/EFA, BE), James Nicholson (ECR, UK), as well as the MEPs Eva Kaili (S&D, GR), Jonás Fernández (S&D, ES) Igor Šoltes (Greens/EFA, SL) Victor Negrescu (S&D, RO), have presented the new written declaration 0003/2016 on trophy hunting which calls on the Commission and the Council

– to examine the possibility of restricting all trophy imports,

– to ensure proper implementation of the rules by Member States,

– to persuade countries that are issuing permits to trophy hunters without due consideration for the impacts of trophy hunting on conservation and animal welfare to discontinue this practice.

The Animal Welfare Intergroup encourages all MEPs to sign it and to spread the message for this initiative. The lapse date is on 18th April 2016.


Comments are closed.