Today, the Intergroup on the Welfare and Conservation has elected Sirpa Pietikäinen MEP (EPP, FI) as new President. She will chair the Intergroup until the end of this term.

The other candidate for President was Jørn Dohrmann (ECR-DK).

Mrs Pietikäinen is one of the outstanding promoters for animal welfare in the European Parliament and on EU level. Due to her commitment to the cause, she has won the “MEP of the year award” in the category animal welfare, in 2015.

Following her election Sirpa Pietikäinen stated, “Advocating the Commission for a new EU animal welfare strategy is our top priority at the moment. The Parliament has already demanded renewal of the strategy in its resolution from November 2015.” “One of the Intergroup’s greatest achievements has been the earlier animal welfare strategy for the years 2012-2015. It would be a real shame if this hard work is not carried over to a new strategy period.”

The Intergroup has also appointed Jadwiga Wiśniewska (ECR, PL) and Petras Auštrevicius (ALDE, LT) as new Vice-Presidents.

Jadwiga Wiśniewska, has been among the first MEPs who have joined the Intergroup during this term. She intends to represent the Polish ECR delegation in the Intergroup and to continue the legacy of Mr Wojciechowski, the former President of the Animal Welfare Intergroup.

Petras Auštrevičius is one of the most active Members of the Animal Welfare Intergroup and has a solid experience about animal welfare policy from his political activities on national level where he has contributed to the drafting of the Lithuanian Animal Welfare Law.



For press inquiries please contact:

Andreas Erler,, +32 478 769 028


Comments are closed.