First Intergroup preparatory meeting for the new EP: elections and priorities

17 Sep 2019
On Thursday 19th September, the Intergroup on the Welfare and Conservation of Animals will hold its first meeting for this new legislative term. The Intergroup members will elect the new Board and discuss the priorities for the next five years.

The meeting will start with the election of the new President of the Intergroup. Appointed for 2.5 years, the President is the main representative of the Intergroup, chairs its sessions and events and leads its initiatives. The alternance between the main political groups at the presidency of the Intergroup demonstrated the cross-party support for animal welfare in the Parliament. Anja Hazekamp (GUE/NGL, NL) will be appointed for the presidency. Sirpa Pietikäinen (EPP, FI), the current President of the Intergroup, will become an Honorary President. 

The Vice-Presidents, MEPs who are particularly committed to promote animal welfare and conservation in related EU policy, will also be appointed during the meeting. Petras Auštrevičius (RE, LT), Pascal Durand (RE, FR), Fredrick Federley (RE, SE), and Jadwiga Wiśniewska (ECR, PL) will continue their work as Vice-Presidents after being particularly active on animal welfare during the last five years. Klaus Buchner (Greens/EFA, DE), Martin Buschmann (GUE/NGL, DE), Eleonora Evi (NA, IT), Niels Fuglsang (S&D, DK), Francisco Guerreiro (Greens/EFA, PT), Martin Hojsik (RE, SK), Tilly Metz (Greens/EFA, LU), Maria Noichl (S&D, DE), and Emil Radev (EPP, BG), will become new Vice-Presidents.

Reineke Hameleers from Eurogroup for Animals, the Intergroup’s secretariat, will present the animal welfare priorities for the new term. She will highlight the most pressing matters and suggest clear and concrete actions that the members of the Intergroup could take to improve animal welfare in the EU.